Spanakopita Scramble

We received one precious harvest of spinach this season, and I wanted to make sure not to squander it. Since I also had an abundance of feta fall into my life (left over from the Fall Festival), I decided to make spanakopita, inspired by the My Greek Dish. When the time came, though, I was too hungry and short on flour to attempt making phyllo dough from scratch. I ended up going the lazy route instead and making spanakopita inspired scrambled eggs. Obviously it can’t compare to true spanakopita, sandwiched between crisp, buttery, layers of phyllo, but it was still pretty dang delicious! As usual, I didn’t measure anything, but have done my best to approximate here.

Spanakopita Scramble

1 bag spinach (maybe 3 packed cups), coursely chopped

2 eggs

1/2 cup crumbled feta

A few sprigs of dill, minced

Dash of nutmeg, salt and pepper

Wilt the spinach in a little olive oil in a skillet. Beat together the remaining ingredients, add more oil in the pan, and pour over the spinach. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring frequently, just until set, and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Low Carb, Out of the Frypan, Quick and easy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment