Grain and Dairy Free Tiramisu

I’ve been looking forward to celebrating my housemate’s birthday since the beginning of the apprenticeship, in no small part so I could give this tiramisu a try. A bit more sophisticated and involved than I usually attempt, but it’s always nice have an excuse to try something new and take on a challenge from time to time. I drew inspiration from a “keto” tiramisu recipe from Wholesome Yum, and a dairy-free recipe from VibrantlyGFree, and have to say this is one of the most delicious cakes I have ever made. I wasn’t able to get the coconut cream whipped since I only had a whisk to work with, and I didn’t remember to chill it ahead of time in order for the solids to separate out more fully. I also didn’t realize the solids would rise to the top, so they ended up mostly in the cake instead. The topping stayed runny even after spending the night in the fridge, so I waited until right before serving to spread it onto the cake (which I left on the counter) to avoid sogginess. But still so tasty, no one seemed to mind. Definitely a keeper!

Grain and Dairy Free Tiramisu

Cake:

1/4 cup sugar

1/3 cup softened coconut oil (I used a stick of butter instead since the dairy-free people currently in my life can eat butter)

4 egg whites

1/4 cup coconut cream (liquid and solid both, after solids removed for the topping)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups pecan flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

Separately combine wet and dry ingredients, then gradually mix together. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Let cool while preparing the topping. Once cooled down some, pour the coffee over top: 1/4 cup espresso or strong coffee, at room temperature

Topping:

4 egg yolks

1/4 cup sugar

1 cup coconut cream (solids only, if you want them whipped)

Beat eggs together with sugar in a small bowl that fits on top of a pot as a double boiler. Place on top once water is boiling. Reduce heat to low and cook for 7-10 minutes, stirring constantly, until the mixture is lighter, increased in volume, and a little frothy. Remove from heat and whisk for a couple minutes as it thickens. Let cool. Whip the coconut cream, then gently mix into the egg mixture. Spread over the cake, optionally refrigerate for several hours or overnight, and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods, Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Low Carb, Snacks and Sweets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Grain and Dairy Free Tiramisu

  1. Pingback: Pecan Flour “Bee-Day” Cake | Of Pancake Flips and Oven Flops

Leave a comment