Black-Eyed Pea Salad with Rhubarb & Dill

I was originally planning to make Algerian Black-eyed Pea Salad for the potluck tonight, but after realized I didn’t have some key ingredients, I decided to give it a fresh spin from ingredients close to home. Refreshingly different and surprisingly delicious!

Black Eyed Pea Salad with Rhubarb & Dill

3-6 stalks rhubarb
5-10 garlic scapes (milder than garlic cloves, which could substitute if don’t have scopes)
Cooked Black eyed peas (I was making a big batch, so I used a large potful)
A generous drizzle of olive oil
A few splashes of vinegar (I used my apple scrap vinegar!)
Fresh dill and cilantro, finely minced
Salt and chili powder, to taste (I used chamayo, but paprika or any chili should be fine)

Sauté the garlic scopes, then add the rhubarb and cook just until begins to soften but still maintains its form. Mix with olive oil and vinegar, then add seasonings and adjust to taste. Enjoy warm or cold. Yum!

This entry was posted in Garden Originals, Gluten Free, Salads and Pilafs, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

