Arugula Quiche with Sourdough Crust

Continuing my quest to use our glut of arugula, I decided to make a quiche for potluck last night. I immediately started fantasizing about a delightfully tart crust adding another layer of complexity to the pie — sure enough, I wasn’t the first to think of this, and I found excellent guidance right away. Thanks to Nicole, from Pinch My Salt, which looks to be a very cool site with all kinds of recipes I’m excited to check out soon! I followed her recipe fairly closely, including using a food processor to prepare the crust in a matter of minutes. This trick made it possible for me to just barely squeeze quiche making between animal care, harvesting, planting peas and asparagus, seeding flats onions, and keeping everything watered on this ridiculously hot and sunny day. Phew!

I didn’t have any luck rolling out the dough, probably because I was using whole grain flours instead of all-purpose, so I ended up pressing it into the pie pan instead. I was delighted that it came out of the oven looking perfect, even though in my haste I forgot to cover it with foil. Unfortunately, I then dropped the entire quiche as I scrambled out the door. Thankfully the quiche and pan both survived, but most of the crust broke off. Oh, the irony. Pride cometh before a fall. Nonetheless, I was quite pleased with this quiche, and am happy to have a tried and true pie crust recipe now — and sourdough, at that!

The crust recipe can easily be doubled (back to the original proportions) to make two crusts. Even if you only plan to make one single-crust pie, you can always freeze the other for later. Simply divide in half when you originally stick them in the fridge, or when you go to shape the crust in the pan.

Arugula Quiche with Sourdough Crust

Sourdough Pie Crust
3/4 cup flour (I used about half spelt, half oat, all oat might have been better)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick cold butter, sliced
1/2 cup sourdough starter*

Cut butter into the flour until in “pea-size” crumbs (a few larger chunks are okay), either with a pastry cutter or a few pulses in a food processor. Spoon sourdough starter on top and pulse a couple more times to form a crumbly dough that sticks together when pressed. Form dough into a ball in a small bowl, cover with a damp towel (or wrap the ball in plastic), and refrigerate at least an hour, until you are ready to use it, up to 24 hours later.

Filling
3 cloves garlic, minced
A few cups arugula, or whatever veggies you prefer
5 eggs
3/4 cup kefir (or buttermilk, yogurt + water, or any milk you prefer)
1/2 to 1 cup grated cheese
1/2 teaspoon or so salt
A few generous sprinkles chili powder, black pepper, or whatever seasonings you choose

Press dough gently into a disk, the roll out on a lightly floured surface or press into a pie pan. Return to refrigerator until ready to use. Preheat oven to 375°F. Sauté arugula and garlic in a little oil, until wilted. Meanwhile, beat together eggs with remaining filling ingredients, then stir in cooked vegetables. Remove crust from fridge and pour in the filling, then immediately place in the oven and bake for 45-55 minutes, until center is only slightly jiggly. Let set for a few minutes, then slice and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Casseroles and Baked Dishes, Low Carb and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

