Leftover Oatmeal Muffins

There have been long stretches of my life when I’ve eaten oatmeal for breakfast pretty well everyday. It’s fast, inexpensive, and versatile, a canvas for almost endless mix-ins and spice combinations. Even so, there is a limit to how many mornings you can eat oatmeal before you are ready for something else.

These muffins are a delightful way to enjoy leftover oatmeal in a new form. I adapted a recipe from The Black Peppercorn, more than I intended, realizing now how poorly I transcribed it. I was so pleased with the result, however, that I think I’ll stick with my version. I might add more butter, but otherwise, they are great as they are. I found the oatmeal and cinnamon made these plenty sweet for my taste, but feel free to sweeten them further to your liking. I look forward to making these again soon, maybe with blueberries or pecans. As with oatmeal, the possible variations are almost endless!

Solar Cooking Approved: First made a batch of these in the solar box oven at Ampersand. Use a dark muffin tin and leave about 3 hours or so. Muffins are a bit challenging, since they bake uncovered — you may need to try to wedge the door ever so slightly open and/or wipe condensation off of the glass from time to time.

UPDATE (2/24/16): Made these with some leftover black rice this time, along with kefir in place of the milk, and ground cardamom, ginger, and star anise in place of the cinnamon, since that’s what I had. Now that I’ve made my way through the macaroons, I’m excited to have another snack around to sustain me for a few days! And it’s great to know that these can work with other cooked grains, will have to keep experimenting…

Leftover Oatmeal Muffins
(Makes 1 dozen)
2 1/2 cups flour (I used spelt this time, Pamela’s all-purpose gluten-free in the past)
1 teaspoon cinnamon (or whatever spices you prefer)
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
1-2 eggs (or flax eggs)
1 1/2 cups cooked oatmeal
3/4 cup milk of your choice
2 tablespoons (or more) melted butter or oil
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (or up to 1/2 cup of any mix-ins you desire)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Combine together the dry ingredients, then add the milk, melted butter, and oatmeal and whisk together with a fork until fairly smooth. Fold in sunflower seeds or desired mix-ins, spoon batter into greased muffin tin, and bake for about 22-25 minutes, until cooked through. Let cool for a few minutes before removing from pan. Best enjoyed warm… stick leftover muffins in the toaster oven for a minute or two to crisp them back up. (More butter in the batter might also help with this.) Yum!

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods, Breakfast, Gluten Free, Quick and easy, Snacks and Sweets, Solar cooking, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

