Garlic Pizza Puffs

A recipe for “Pizza Puffs” has been hanging on the refrigerator the entire time I’ve been at Chrysalis Earth, but to be honest I was a bit skeptical — they seemed like a cheesy finger-food to make for your picky toddler. But with a few stray odds and ends of sauce and mozzarella from making sourdough pizza last week, and not a lot of other ideas or ingredients to fill my rumbling stomach, I decided I might as well give them a try. They are indeed quite cheesy, which is what makes them so tempting for all ages! I might not go out of my way to make them again, but then again, they are quick and easy and I did eat more than half the batch. I imagine all kinds of cheeses and pizza toppings could be mixed into this. Pesto would be amazing! Okay, maybe I will have to make these again…

Garlic Pizza Puffs

1 cup flour (I used spelt)
1 teaspoon baking powder
A sprinkle of salt and pepper
Minced Italian herbs (I used sage, rosemary, and oregano)
A few sprinkles red pepper flakes (optional)
1 small habanero, finely minced (optional)
3-8 cloves of garlic, finely minced (optional)
1 cup whole milk
1 egg
A cup or so shredded mozzarella
A small amount of pizza sauce or pasta sauce, for dipping

Preheat oven to 375°F. Combine together dry ingredients, herbs, and peppers and garlic, then whisk in milk and egg. Stir in cheese and spoon into a greased muffin tin. (I ended up with only 9). Bake until puffed and golden, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, heat sauce for dipping. Let rest until cool enough to handle, then dip and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods, Cooking With Kids, Quick and easy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

