Spiced Squash Pancakes

Yum! I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten so many pancakes or as much squash as I have in the past two months here at Spreadwing. Still a treat. Especially these, with plenty of spice and everything nice. I used orange juice, which rendered them a bit too sweet for my taste, but they were a hit with everyone else!

The batter turns out much thicker than I expected, closer to muffins or cookies than pancakes. Never fear. Trust the recipe and all will be well.

UPDATE (10/25/17): I’ve made these so many times now, I’ve lost count. Quite possibly my favorite pancakes of all time, another reason to love fall! I usually use milk or thinned yogurt, and oat or whole wheat flour, but I found myself without any of these today. Came up with a noteworthy variation, using 3/4 cup of my (currently gluten-free starter), 1/2 cup rice flour, 1/2 cup cornmeal, and 1/4 cup water in their place. Yum!

Squash Pancakes

1 1/2 cups oat flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon and ginger

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 cup kefir (or milk, or orange juice, or a mix)

2 cups winter squash

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 tablespoons melted butter or oil

4 eggs

1 teaspoon baking soda

Combine flour and spices in a large bowl. If not soaking, mix in baking soda as well. Then mix in squash, liquid, vanilla, and melted butter or oil. Leave to soak overnight (optional). Just before cooking, beat eggs with baking soda and mix in until smooth. Batter will still be very thick. Ladle onto a heated and greased griddle or pan and cook over medium-low heat until lightly crispy and browned. They will not bubble at the surface when ready to flip, so check after a minute until you get a sense how long they take. Then watch them vanish before your eyes!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Gluten Free, Out of the Frypan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

