Green Tomato Chutney

Sometimes, the odds are staked against you. And sometimes the current carries you along. I have been longing to make green tomato pickles since I first tasted these delicacies last season. After I realized I was out of vinegar and didn’t have most of the spices I needed, however, I had to resign myself to the fact that tonight was not the night. After glancing through a few recipes, however, I realized I could probably make a pretty decent chutney from a hodgepodge of ingredients lurking around the kitchen. It turned out splendidly. Some things are just meant to be.

Green Tomato Chutney

2 cups chopped green tomatoes
1 small onion, chopped
1 hot pepper, seeded and finely chopped
2 candied pineapple rings, chopped (optional — I happened to have some left over from a potluck, candied ginger or raisins would also work I imagine)
A few splashes apple cider vinegar (I used some of the brine from the watermelon rind pickles)
A spoonful of mustard (dijon or spicy brown)
1 teaspoon ground ginger
Salt and pepper, to taste

Mix ingredients together and bring to a boil, then reduce to a gentle simmer and cook, uncovered, for about 45 minutes. Stir frequently, especially toward the end, until soft and thick. Spoon into jars and let marinate at least overnight before using. It should keep in the refrigerator for about a month, that is if you can keep from eating it all first. If you are particularly ambitious and blessed with green tomatoes, you can also make larger batches for canning. Yum!

This entry was posted in Garden Originals, Gluten Free, Low Carb, Sauces, Condiments, and Dips, Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

