Chard Frittata & Mini Quiches

ChardFritattaPlate

Growing up, I was always a huge fan of kale and beet greens, but other greens, like turnip greens and chard, have taken me some time to develop an appreciation for. But ever since I discovered the holy trinity of eggs, chard, and cloves, my life has never been the same.

This ephiphany was inspired, as usual, by a last minute improvisation in the kitchen. (I try to remember these fortuitous moments when I have experiments that don’t end so well. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.) Last fall, I was searching for something quick I could make for a potluck, and came across a recipe for “mini quiches” from The Kitchn. I didn’t have most of the ingredients — the first frost had already finished off our zucchini and basil — but I was sure it could be adapted for what I had in abundance: chard and duck eggs. I deliberated a little longer how I should season them, since I didn’t have herbs or many spices around, until I remembered the bottle of cloves I had bought a few months back to make turnip pie. The rest is history. These mini quiches are perfect finger food for a party or potluck, and make a great breakfast or snack on the run.

Eyeing the large bunch of chard and parsley in the fridge, I decided to modify the recipe slightly to make a frittata. Alongside quinoa tabbouleh, made for a simple and satisfying dinner. Can hardly wait for the next time we have chard on hand!

I suspect beet greens could easily be substituted for the chard, and these methods can easily be adapted for whatever veggies and seasonings you have on hand.

ChardFritattaHalfDish

Chard Frittata & Mini-Quiches

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Oil

Chopped leek (or onion)

1 bunch chard, stems separated from leaves and chopped

1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves, to taste

1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste

For frittata:

5-6 eggs

1/4 cup milk of your choice

For mini-quiches (fills 48 mini-muffin cups)

4 eggs (duck work wonderfully)

3/4 cup milk of your choice

Preheat oven to 375ºF for fritatta, or 450ºF for mini-quiches. Sauté leek and chard stems in oil for several minutes until soften and turn fragrant, then add leaves, cut in strips and sauté a few more minutes until lightly wilted. Beat eggs with milk and cloves in a bowl. Generously grease a baking dish or mini muffin tins, sprinkle with grated cheese, then add the veggies and pour egg mixture on top. Another option for the fritatta is to stir the veggies directly into to egg mixture, then pour together into the baking dish. Bake 15-20 minutes for mini-quiches, 25-35 minutes for fritatta, until set in the middle. Let cool for several minutes before serving. Yum! Any leftovers are also delicious at room temperature or even still cold out of the fridge. Mini quiches can also be frozen in a single layer in an airtight container and reheated at 400ºF for 5-10 minutes.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Casseroles and Baked Dishes, Garden Originals, Gluten Free, Low Carb, Quick and easy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

