Turnip Muffins

TurnipMuffinsThe sudden absence of baked goods in our kitchen had to be rectified immediately. Perfect excuse to make muffins! Wanted to incorporate our bumper crop of turnips, but couldn’t find a recipe, so ended up coming up with my own. Was nervous how it would turn out, but pleasantly pleased with the result! Perfect texture, moist but not gummy, and peaked beautifully! I was not quite as keen on the flavor as everyone else at first, though I like it better with each muffin I devour. I think I might like the spices more pronounced, perhaps with cloves or allspice, and maybe a teaspoon of vanilla extract. But hearing so much praise for the hearty, earthy flavor, reminiscent of bran muffins, perhaps I will end up sticking with the original, below.

Turnip Muffins (2 dozen)

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tbsp. baking soda

1 tbsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup sugar

2 cups turnip puree (2-3 turnips, cubed and boiled until tender, then processed)

2/3 cup buttermilk (or 2/3 cups milk + 2 tsp. lemon juice)

2 eggs (or 2 tbsp. flax seed meal + 6 tsp. hot water)

Preheat oven to 400ºF and grease muffins. Mix flours, baking soda, and spices. Mix wet ingredients and sugar, then mix into dry ingredients just until evenly moist (batter will be very thick). Add extra turnip puree if necessary. Spoon into muffin cups and bake 15-18 minutes. Remove immediately from pan and cool on a rack.

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods, Breakfast, Garden Originals, Snacks and Sweets, Vegan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turnip Muffins

  1. herbabuena says:

    It’s been almost three years since I made these, so I’m not sure, but I don’t think I used any fat in the recipe. I don’t think it would hurt to add 2-4 tablespoons of butter or oil to the mix, though, if you felt so inclined. I’d love to hear how it turns out for you if you try it… wish I had turnips right now to test it out again for myself!

Leave a Reply

