Veggie Garbanzo Dip

I made a hummus & lettuce sandwich for lunch pretty much every day of high school. At the time, I was under the mistaken impression that it was chock full of protein from all the garbanzos and sesame seeds in it. It was quite a shock when I realized it was actually primarily fat. Too late, however. I was helplessly addicted. While I have branched out with my lunches, I have a hard time restraining myself when there is hummus around, especially if there are also tortilla chips or crackers to dip with.

At last, my redemption! A garbanzo dip full of protein and nutritious vegetables, absolutely no oil, and bursting with flavor. Perfect for potlucks — I’ve brought it to four in the past couple months alone, to rave reviews. It’s truly that good. A treasure of a recipe I am so excited to have discovered and to share, and it couldn’t be simpler!

I’ve tried a few different vegetables and seasonings. Lemon Spinach and Gingered Beet remain my favorites, but the possible variations are endless. Have fun experimenting!

UPDATE (10/15/2015): Instead of coriander, added a bit of orange juice and lemonbalm to the beet dip… even better!

SpinachDip

Lemon Spinach Garbanzo Dip

1 can garbanzo beans (about 1 1/2 cups cooked)

8 ounces of fresh spinach

1-2 tablespoons lemon juice, or to taste

1/2 teaspoon or so each cumin, coriander, and chili powder, or to taste

Salt and pepper to taste

Drain and rinse the beans. Blanch the spinach in boiling water, then squeeze out liquid through a strainer. (Reserve one leaf for garnish if desired.) Blend all the ingredients together in the food processor until smooth and adjust seasonings to taste.

Gingered Beet Garbanzo Dip

1 can garbanzo beans (about 1 1/2 cups cooked)

2-3 beets

1 teaspoon ginger, or to taste

1/2 teaspoon coriander, or to taste

Salt to taste

Drain and rinse beans. Boil beets until tender, then peel and cut into chunks. Blend all the ingredients together in a food processor until smooth and adjust seasonings to taste. Johnny-jump-ups make a great garnish, I just love to decorate with them!

This entry was posted in Garden Originals, Gluten Free, Quick and easy, Sauces, Condiments, and Dips, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

