Turnips in Mustard Sauce

I’m back! Since I returned to the States in January, I’ve been spending more and more time in the kitchen, cooking for anywhere from 10-80 people. And eating lots of amazing food. I hope to be able to get some more of these dishes on here soon, but living in community has been pretty all-consuming and it’s hard to find the time. However, the turnips I made for supper tonight, based on a recipe from How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman, demanded a post.  This delicious preparation certainly earns the lowly turnip more respect.

I was not at all precise in my proportions, since I was cooking up as much as I could fit in a giant pan. I’ve posting the original proportions (for 4 servings) below for reference.

Turnips in Mustard Sauce

2 tbsp. oil

1 1/2 pounds turnips, peeled and diced

1 cup water

1 tbsp sugar or honey (optional)

2 tablespoons dijon mustard or mustard seeds

Salt and pepper, to taste

Sautee turnips in oil for about 10 minutes, stirring frequently, until browned (never browned at all for me). Then add water and sugar, bring to a boil, and simmer uncovered until most of the liquid has evaporated and the turnips are tender. If you used sugar, the liquid may form a thin syrup, though this never happened for me. Stir in salt, pepper, and mustard. Adjust to taste and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Out of the Frypan, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

