Persimmon oat muffins

Perhaps my biggest oven flop yet. When we have company coming, of course. They taste amazing, but we’ll have to eat them with a spoon. Totally misread the amount of oats. I stuck them back in the oven for an extra 15 minutes, until the edges started to burn, in hopes they’d solidify. Just made matters worse. My mother had to run out and get ice cream instead. Oh well, all the more for me!

At least we had this incredible salad to serve our guests – arugula, red cabbage, pears, feta, and pecans

If I ever have persimmons on my hands again, I will most definitely try making another batch of these. They are the tastiest of the persimmon treats I’ve made, even burnt, definitely a decadent dessert!

UPDATE (1/20/2013): I made these again, this time with the proper amount of oats. They still fell and never fully solidified. It may just be inherent to baking with persimmons. They are still so delicious I’m determined to make them work. Maybe if I use only half as much persimmon? I’ll have to try again soon.

UPDATE (1/2/2015): Tried these again, with the pulp from just one persimmon and without the pecan on top. Still sunk and refused to solidify. I suspect I must simply resign myself to the fact that these will always be “pudding.” Perhaps this could be adapted into a true persimmon pudding and baked in a square dish or ramekins instead. Certainly is a delicious combination!

*Sigh*

*Sigh*

UPDATE (1/12/2015): Found the original recipe from ChowVida and made a few alterations as a last ditch effort. Used just one persimmon again, added 1/4 cup flax seed, used 1 tsp. baking soda instead of the baking powder, and baked them at 325ºF instead of 375ºF. I eliminated the sugar completely, using only molasses as sweetener, but I think they would have been better just a tad sweeter. Definitely more “muffin-y,” but still fallen and a bit too gummy. I was less fond of the flavor and texture, and my digestive system protested against so much flax. Maybe reducing the amount of milk or increasing the amount of flour slightly would help? Knowing me, next persimmon season I’ll probably give it one more shot. Otherwise, persimmon pudding it is!

PersimmonOatMuffins

Nope, not even with flax.

Persimmon oat muffins

1 cup milk of your choice

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar (optional, if not using buttermilk)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon cardamon (I ground 2 pods)

1/8 tsp. cloves

2 persimmons

1/4 cup oil

1/8 cup molasses

12 pecan halves

Preheat oven to 375ºF. Measure out milk, add vinegar, and let it curdle (optional). Meanwhile, sift together the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Scoop out persimmon pulp and whisk it relatively smooth. Stir milk mixture until thick and smooth, then mix into persimmon pulp along with oil. Pour molasses into dry ingredients (using same measure used for oil helps it glide out), then add wet ingredients and gently stir in just until combined. Fill greased muffin cups to two-thirds, place a pecan half in the center of each muffin, and bake 20-30 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods, Flops with Promise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

