Salt-and-pepper squash

The natural thing to eat for the first night of Hannukah, of course! Ever since I ate salt-and-pepper pumpkin at The Ark, my family’s favorite Chinese restaurant, I’ve been determined to make it again at home, so I staked a claim on the final butternut squash from our CSA for this noble purpose. Unfortunately, a recipe proved even more elusive than the squash itself, and when I finally found one, it called for deep-frying and then stir-frying the pumpkin. I should have known that the texture and taste I so adored involved a lake of oil. I debated incorporating the squash into a rice porridge, another Chinese dish I adore, but ultimately ended up drawing on instructions for salt-and-pepper shrimp and the oven. Not quite the same, of course. I guess I’ll just have to go back to The Ark for this particular delicacy, but in the meantime, I have another delicious dish to enjoy.

I scooped the squash out of the pan, added just a dash more of oil, and quickly fried up some cabbage with ginger, tamari, and a sprinkle of seasame seeds. Meanwhile, I boiled a cup or so of raw peanuts that have been sitting dejectedly in the back of the cabinet for a year. They simmered for about 45 minutes, until they just started getting tender. With a splash of soy-sauce, they added a welcome crunch to the meal. I also scrambled a few eggs for a little extra protein.

After several hours and using half the pots and pans and serving platters in the house, we devoured the whole feast in a matter of minutes. Look forward to doing it again soon!

Salt-and-pepper squash

1 butternut squash

Oil

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 cayenne peppers (or other chilies), chopped

Salt and pepper

Slice open squash, scoop out seeds, and cube. Coat in oil and roast at 450ºF for about 20-30 minutes, until tender and beginning to brown. Sauté garlic and peppers for a inute over low heat, then add squash pieces, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and stir-fry over medium heat for a few more minutes, until fragrant and melded. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Casseroles and Baked Dishes, Flops with Promise, Gluten Free, Low Carb, Out of the Frypan, Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

