Orange-walnut coffee cake

It’s been so crazy the last couple of weeks – I forgot I made this coffee cake for Laurie’s birthday in the middle of the night last weekend. It turned out pretty well… I forgot I’m not the biggest fan of orange flavored baked goods, and I thought the nutmeg was overpowering in the topping, so I would recommend cutting it back. Despite this, I still found it pretty darn tasty, and it disappeared quickly!

The original recipe, which I followed pretty closely, comes from a very old vegetarian cookbook I got from the library several years back, whose understated name I can’t remember. The egg could easily be replaced for a delicious vegan dessert.

Orange-walnut coffee cake

2 cups flour (I did half whole wheat, half all-purpose)

4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 cup raw sugar

1/3 tsp. salt

1 egg

1/2 cup rice milk or almond milk

8 tablespoons oil

Rind and grated zest of one orange

Topping

1/2 cup raw sugar

2 tablespoons oil

1 tsp. nutmeg and cinnamon

Chopped walnuts

In a large bowl, sift together flour and baking powder. In a medium bowl, beat together egg and milk, then mix in salt, sugar, oil, and zest. Fold into flour mixture. Preheat the oven to 375º and pour batter into a greased 8×11″ square pan. To make topping, mix raw sugar, oil, spices, and nuts and spread on top of batter. Bake 20-30 minutes, until golden and toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

