Fried green tomatoes

Despite spending four years in the south, I never came upon more than a mention of fried green tomatoes. But the bright green tomatoes on the counter have been staring me in the face for past several days, and I finally decided to give it a try. They are truly incredible, unlike anything I have ever had before! I followed SimplyRecipes instructions down to the teaspoon, except I left out the bread crumbs. Found the proportions didn’t quite work out… I had lots of egg and flour left over, but had to add more cornmeal repeatedly. I have adjusted the recipe as best I could. Alternately, for a simplified or vegan alternative, the tomato slices can be dipped solely in cornmeal and then fried. Makes a LOT, I ate at least four slices and fed as many as I could to everyone, and still ended up putting several (not yet fried) into the fridge. Exquisite! Just don’t think of skimping on oil, or they may burn a bit at the bottom. And besides, this is southern cooking, after all!

Fried green tomatoes

3 medium unripe tomatoes, sliced

Salt

1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup milk

1 egg

2/3 cup cornmeal

Oil for frying

Sprinkle tomato slices with salt and set aside while you prepare three shallow bowls – the first with flour, the second with milk and egg whisked together, and the third with cornmeal. Dip tomato slices in flour, egg mixture, then cornmeal, and pan-fry in small batches, about three to five minutes on each side, until golden brown and beginning to soften. Drain on paper towels and try to restrain yourself from scarfing them down long enough to let them cool a bit! Yum!

This entry was posted in Out of the Frypan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

