Apfelpfannekuchen (German apple pancakes)

Returned to my ten year old self for a day… made these delicious pancakes for myself and fellow interns, than went kayaking, neither of which I had done since elementary school, and both of which I definitely want to do again soon!

I doubled the recipe to feed the five of us (3 pancakes each) and added walnut pieces, allspice, and a tsp. of molasses… not sure that any of these contributed a whole lot to the pancakes, but they certainly didn’t hurt. I added the molasses to the egg mixture and it just glued itself to the bottom of the bowl and I couldn’t get much actually in the batter. For future reference, if I want to use molasses, I should try adding it directly to the dry ingredients rather than trying to mix it with the wet. It’s also worth noting that the pancakes never reached the “dippled” stage, and I overcooked the first few expecting it. Don’t know if this was because of the apples, old baking powder, or just a fluke. The pancakes were just fine, but something to be aware of.

I’ve given the original recipe below, from The Kid’s Multicultural Cookbook (Deanna F. Cook).

Apfelpfannekuchen

1 cup flour (I used whole wheat)

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

1 egg

1 cup milk

2 tbsp. oil

1 tbsp. sugar

1 apple, thinly sliced

Oil for frying

Mix together flour, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, and salt in large mixing bowl. Beat egg in small bowl, with milk, oil, and sugar. Mix egg mixture into flour mixture, then stir in apples. Heat oil in pan over medium heat, ladle batter onto pan, and cook until both sides are tan, thinning the batter with milk or water as necessary. Enjoy with syrup, the traditional sour cream and powdered sugar, or hot from the pan!

This entry was posted in Breads and Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

