Chana masala

It’s just my mother and me this weekend, but we’ve been pigging out… cooking for four, only to have us devour quite a bit more than half! This chana masala, sticking pretty closely smitten kitchen’s recipe, was alright, but a bit overly spicy for my taste. I think I will reduce the spices, then perhaps add some back as my nose guides me… I will have to try this again some time when I don’t have a cold. I suspect using regular tomatoes rather than a can of tomatoes with green chilies, and just adding a little cayenne, would also help. And a raita would help quell the burn, of course.

Despite the intimidating list, this recipe is actually quite simple. I mixed the spices ahead of time, which helped a lot.

I also steamed some beet greens and added a little cumin, coriander, and salt, but I wasn’t too fond of the result. A note to self: with greens, especially delicate greens, keep it simple! Maybe a little garlic, or a bit of vinegar, but rethink spices. Especially when you’ve got a cold.

Chana Masala

1 tbsp. oil

Chopped onion

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 tsp. ginger

1 1/2 tsp. cumin and coriander

1 tsp. curry powder

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/4 tsp. each cloves, back pepper, cinnamon, allspice

1-2 pods cardamon

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cans garbanzos

1/4 cup water

1/2 tsp. salt

A few splashes of vinegar

Sauté onion and garlic in oil until soften and just begin to brown. Turn heat to low and mix in the spices, cook a minute, add can of tomatoes and cook about 3 minutes. Add chickpeas and water and simmer uncovered about 10 minutes. Stir in salt and a little vinegar, let cool a bit, and enjoy with plenty of rice!

This entry was posted in Quick and easy, Stews and curries, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

